top of page

Dee Butterfield Scholarship

Dee Butterfield

In memory of Dee Butterfield the annual scholarship of up to £250 will be awarded to a young person aged 11 -19 (on 1st September 2022) resident in, or with a connection to the Parish of Sturminster Marshall to enable them to pursue an educational or vocational opportunity.

Applications should be in the form of a letter detailing the activity the applicant wishes to pursue and should be accompanied by a supporting letter or reference from a teacher or similar person.  Applications from previously unsuccessful applicants are welcomed.

Applications must be received by midnight on 30th June and should be sent to:

The Mackrell Charity

The Old School.

172, Church Street, 

Sturminster Marshall

B21 4BU

or email

The trustees' decision will be final and will be announced at the Dee Butterfield Memorial Lecture to be held in the autumn.



  • Are you a talented musician who would like to purchase an instrument…?

  • Are you a trainee tradesperson who needs to buy some equipment or tools…?

  • Would you like to be able to fund a training course to pursue an ambition…?

  • Have you a hobby that a small grant would enable you to pursue…?


Please note that the successful applicant will be asked to produce a short report on the activity or explanation of the materials for which the scholarship has been used. Anyone wanting any further information can contact

Liz York on 01258 857528

Professor Steve Ellis our lecturer on
An Introduction to Dante
presents the cheque to our winner
Lillia Allcroft, who will use the scholarship to help fund her voluntary work in Cambodia.

DeeBee award cheque 2023.JPG


butterfield award 2022 rufus.jpg




Kate Adie and Robert Hughes

Robert Hughes is presented with the 2018 award by Kate Adie CBE at the Memorial Lecture  13-10-18


Joseph Cade and Roger Holehouse

Joseph Cade is presented with the 2017 award by Roger Holehouse OBE

at the Memorial Lecture 14-10-2017


Tom Kollberg and Earl of Shaftesbury

Tom Kollberg is presented with the 2016 award by the Earl of Shaftesbury at the Memorial Lecture. 

bottom of page